The Official Site of the South Carolina Stingrays

Washington Capitals

Team News

ECHL Announces Hall of Fame

09/10/2007 4:25 PM -

PRINCETON, N.J. - The ECHL proudly announces that, as part of the 20th Anniversary celebration in 2007-08, it will introduce the ECHL Hall of Fame.

The first induction class will be announced in October and will be honored during the festivities at the 2008 ECHL All-Star Game hosted by the Stockton Thunder and the City of Stockton at Stockton Arena on Jan. 23, 2008.

“From humble beginnings the ECHL has grown to become one of the most well-respected and recognized entities in professional sports,” said Commissioner Brian McKenna. “The time has come to recognize the individuals who have contributed to that growth and made the league what it is today. The occasion of our 20th Anniversary presents a unique opportunity to introduce our Hall of Fame.”

The third-longest tenured professional hockey league, behind only the National Hockey League and the American Hockey League, the Premier ‘AA’ Hockey League has grown from five teams in three states in 1988-89 into a coast-to-coast league with 25 teams playing in 17 states and British Columbia in 2007-08.

ECHL fans will be able to visit the Hall of Fame around the clock as it will be housed online, opening as part of the ECHL Network in conjunction with the ceremonies in January. The inductees will also be recognized at both the ECHL office in Princeton, N.J. and in the ECHL section at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto, Ontario .

The logo is a maroon shield outlined in white and grey that has “Hall of Fame” and the ECHL logo in white. Joe Bosack, president and founder of The Joe Bosack Graphic Design Company, designed the logo. Bosack also designed the ECHL logo, the Kelly Cup Playoffs logo, the 15th Anniversary logo, the 20th Anniversary logo as well as the logos for the ECHL All-Star Games each of the past five years.

Hall of Fame members will be selected in four categories: Player, Developmental Player, Builder, and Referee/Linesman. Players must have concluded their career as an active player for a minimum of five playing seasons, though not continuous or full seasons. Development Players must have began their career in the ECHL and went on to a distinguished career in the NHL, playing a minimum of 260 regular season games in the NHL, AHL and ECHL. Builders may be active or inactive whereas Referee/Linesman must have concluded their active officiating career for a minimum of three playing seasons.

No more than five candidates may be elected to the ECHL Hall of Fame each year with no more than three Players, one Developmental Player, two Builders and one Referee/Linesman. The Builder and the Referee/Linesman categories are dependent upon the number of candidates in the Player category.

The nomination and/or selection of candidates will be determined by the ECHL Hall of Fame Selection Committee which will be appointed by the ECHL. 

Only members of the Selection Committee, the Board of Governors or teams in the ECHL may submit official nominations which must be made in writing to the league office. Fans are encouraged to contact their team to propose names for nomination. Selection criteria will be announced and nomination forms will be distributed to teams at a later date.

The ECHL is the primary resource for player development as evidenced by the fact that in the last five seasons there have been over 2,000 call ups to the AHL involving more than 1,000 players which is more than all other professional leagues combined. In each of the last two seasons there have been more than 225 players who have played in both the ECHL and the AHL and there were over 800 call-ups involving more than 500 players.

There have been 329 former ECHL players who have gone on to play in the NHL after playing in the ECHL, including 184 who have played their first game in the NHL in the last five seasons. The ECHL has affiliations with 25 of the 30 teams in the National Hockey League, marking the 10th consecutive season that the league has had affiliations with at least 20 teams in the NHL.

The ECHL is represented for the seventh consecutive year on the National Hockey League championship team in 2007 with Anaheim assistant coach Dave Farrish, players Francois Beauchemin and George Parros and broadcasters John Ahlers and Steve Carroll.



The league officially changed its name to ECHL on May 19, 2003. 

ECHL began in 1988-89 with five teams in three states and has grown to be a coast-to-coast league that will have 25 teams playing in 17 states and British Columbia in 2007-08, including the Mississippi ( Biloxi ) Sea Wolves, who return after missing two seasons in the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina.

Opening Day for the 20th Anniversary Season will be Oct. 18 when the Johnstown Chiefs host the Wheeling Nailers at Cambria County War Memorial. The game is a rematch of Game 7 from the first-ever ECHL Finals played in front of a standing-room-only crowd at Cambria County War Memorial. The two teams will wear throwback jerseys for the Opening Day game that begins at 7:30 p.m. ET and will be broadcast worldwide on B2 Networks, the “Official Broadband Broadcast Provider of the ECHL”. The remaining teams will open their seasons the weekend of Oct. 19-21.

In each of the last two seasons there have been more than 225 players who have played in both the ECHL and the AHL and there were over 800 call-ups involving more than 500 players.

In the last five seasons the ECHL has had more call-ups to the AHL than all other professional leagues combined with over 2,000 call-ups involving more than 1,000 players since 2002-03.

Further information on the ECHL is available from its website at


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »


Browse by Month »

February 2016
January 2016
December 2015
November 2015
October 2015
September 2015
August 2015
July 2015
June 2015
May 2015
April 2015
March 2015
February 2015
January 2015
December 2014
November 2014
October 2014
September 2014
August 2014
July 2014
June 2014
May 2014
April 2014
March 2014
February 2014
January 2014
December 2013
November 2013
October 2013
September 2013
August 2013
July 2013
June 2013
May 2013
April 2013
March 2013
February 2013
January 2013
December 2012
November 2012
October 2012
September 2012
August 2012
July 2012
June 2012
May 2012
April 2012
March 2012
February 2012
January 2012
December 2011
November 2011
October 2011
September 2011
August 2011
July 2011
June 2011
May 2011
April 2011
March 2011
February 2011
January 2011
December 2010
November 2010
October 2010
September 2010
August 2010
July 2010
June 2010
May 2010
April 2010
March 2010
February 2010
January 2010
December 2009
November 2009
October 2009
September 2009
August 2009
July 2009
June 2009
May 2009
April 2009
March 2009
February 2009
January 2009
December 2008
November 2008
October 2008
September 2008
August 2008
July 2008
June 2008
May 2008
April 2008
March 2008
February 2008
January 2008
December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007
December 2006
November 2006
October 2006
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006

Our Sponsors

Trident Health
Orange Theory
Uncle Bobs Self Storage
Trident Pain Center
SC Aquarium
Jimmy Johns
Health First
Charleston ENT
Great Clips
Crews Subaru
Wild Wing Cafe
Climate Makers
Children's Museum of Lowcountry
Oceanside Advisors
Heritage Trust
Visionary Insurance Advocates
Chas Country Environmental Management
Jason Hehr
Carolina Ice Palace
Life Careers
Coastal Vascular
SC Sports Med
Bison Branding
Appaliacian Springs
The Post and Courier
Smooth Move
Blackbeards Cove
Southside 17
Crews Chevy
Fatz Cafe
King Street Grille
Coastal Kids Dental
Savage Law Firm
Sessions Chiro
Dick's Sporting Goods
o2 Fitness
QEI Security & Technology
Charleston GI
East Bay Deli
Hyatt Place
CiCi's Pizza
South Carolina Advocates for Epilepsy
Ms Roses